Heavy Heart

Sitting on the porch
watching sunrise and sunset
watching seasons fly by
sunshine and rain.

Sitting on the balcony
thinking of yesterday
thinking of what could have been
morning and evening.

Once I was happy
just a child
fire in the eyes
frost on my lashes
a fluttering heart.

Running, shouting, smiling
feeling wind in my hair
summer heat on my skin
rain on my face.

Then I got older.
Be better!
Be the best!
Give your all!
You’re useless otherwise
reach perfection
always smile
always exceed expectation
Stop being you!

Running, shouting, smiling
pencil in my hair
roughness of paper on my skin
tears on my face.

Not happy anymore
already grown up
dull, lifeless eyes
melted frost on the lashes
a heavy heart in my chest.

Lying on the lawn
seeing sunrays dancing in the tree
seeing clouds fly by
sunshine and rain.

Lying on my bed
dreaming of tomorrow
dreaming of a better world
morning and evening.

—Kitsune

Published by: Kitsune

I love art of any kind as long as it doesn't involve a long-winded explanation about what it should represent or not. Thus I love to draw. Be it pencil on paper, digital or on a canvas. Of course I'm nowhere near the level of some artists in the world but I like to think that I'm steadily improving. I like reading and drinking tea but also go out if I have the oppurtunity and the right company. I'm a night person which is also the reason why most of my posts are written and published around 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. in the night.

Categories PoetryTags, , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

