Home is where the Heart is

It’s been a long time. Almost four months since my last post. Yama-chan has done a good job of keeping this blog alive – in the widest meaning of the word – and now I’m finally back!

NEWS:

I’m thinking about doing two things:

  1. Give this blog a makeover. New banner etc.
  2. Open a new blog solely dedicated to traveling. Mainly my trip to China. (I will tell you a little bit about it later.)

I will of course let you know when I have started the latter.

So, where have I been hiding the past few months?

Since my last post – as far as I remember – at the beginning of August a lot has changed in my life.

In the time leading up to the 2nd September I was planning my trip to China.
I think I’ve already mentioned getting my Visa here.
Well, you see despite me being over 18 (Yay to adulthood!) my parents still receive child support – if that is what it is called in English; Kindergeld – but it was a hassle to get with the “Familienkasse”.
But let’s start at the beginning:

The beginning goes as far back as December.
At that time I was in the middle of preparing for my final exams and realized that my school life is coming to an end. I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life afterwards. In short: I started to panic.

I talked with my friends on the bus – honestly, I have way to many friends I only meet on the bus – and one of them told me that they had an information day in school about what one can do after school. She wanted to send me some links. And she did. Lots of links. Maybe fifty – I’m exaggerating, only fifteen.
And so I spent my next few days browsing on the internet and checking out all the links. If I had found something interesting, I would bookmark it.
In the end I had various options:
Au Pair, FSJ(I shall explain later),BFD(also called BuFDi, which I also shall explain later) and Volunteer Work Abroad.
I had so many different options for Volunteer Work Abroad that I made one of my famous lists. Pro and Contra list to be exact.

abiball-friwoe058
This is me with one of my closest friends. I didn’t know if she wanted her face to not be online or not so I put a filter on just in case.

Finally I had decided to go to China for three months (September to November) and do Au Pair afterwards to fill the time until I would start university (I finally have three options I want to consider).
Then came my parents…
They were very supportive of me teaching English in China but absolutely against Au Pair as they had heard terrible things about it on TV – where else! – and so I said:
China it is and what comes after it I will decide later.

China got booked in January, Exams from February to March, Finals were in May and then finishing the planning for our prom. We still needed sponsors at that point. And I had to finish the tickets (design, final look, printing etc.). Find dress, buy dress and fit dress. You men have no idea how much work it is to find a perfect dress!

Prom was awesome. Not much dancing. German proms are way too serious for lots of dancing.

Anyway, prom was fun and everything. After that I never saw most of my classmates again.
But I’m still keeping in contact with my friends even though we got split up in all directions.
I still miss them. But we’ll be together again for Christmas.
And some friends are not done with school yet so I can still see them.

IMG_20150901_232933
Excuse the terrible quality.

Back to how I ended up in China.
I started organizing in March (pack lists, To-Do-Lists and filling out more forms). By the beginning of August I finally had my Visa for China, an almost ready pack list and was stressing about what I should do afterwards. The “Familienkasse” was not accepting my volunteering in China as social work so I had to find another way of securing continued child support.
We decided to have me apply for a course at uni where I would never get accepted. Med school in Heidelberg was the obvious choice. With that I had the status of “in search of education” and secured continued child support.
I went back to school to return my school books and had a chat with the librarian. And she told me that they were still searching for people to do their FSJ there.
FSJ=Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr(=Voluntary Social Year)
As I’m an alumni of that school it was alright for me to start on the 1st December instead of September.
Problems solved!

I was so ready for China.
And on the 1st September I was sitting in the plane on my way to Doha, Qatar, and then to Shanghai, China.

If you want to know what happened when I arrived in China, you’ll have to wait for the next post.
Home is where the Heart is – Part 2

— Kitsune

(P.S.: If you’re interested in a travel blog or have questions, leave a comment.)

Published by: Kitsune

I love art of any kind as long as it doesn't involve a long-winded explanation about what it should represent or not. Thus I love to draw. Be it pencil on paper, digital or on a canvas. Of course I'm nowhere near the level of some artists in the world but I like to think that I'm steadily improving. I like reading and drinking tea but also go out if I have the oppurtunity and the right company. I'm a night person which is also the reason why most of my posts are written and published around 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. in the night.

Categories SpecialsTags, , , , , , , , , , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Home is where the Heart is”

Leave a Reply

