Understanding the World

I have some big and awesome news!
At least if you enjoy or simply want to learn a new language.
A good friend of mine introduced me to this website Memrise (the link can also be found on our page for links at the very top).
You can also get it as an app for your phone or something. And it’s really easy to use.

But now to explain what it does:
It’s a repetition software. And you can learn any language you want from it. Everything from the “common” languages to learning to code (html etc.). Even for learning to differentiate cheese types and herbs. I’m sure there is something for everyone.
I’m using it for Mandarin. Mainly because it’s a cool language and I don’t want to forget what I learned in the language school in Shanghai (I think I mentioned it in the past ¹ ² ³ ).
I’m also thinking of learning Japanese afterwards because the signs are almost all the same but just have a different pronunciation. And maybe afterwards Russian or something.
But unfortunately I don’t know if I will have enough time for that in the future as I will start university in fall. Not sure yet which university though. But I will almost certainly study law. I’m so excited!
There are some really cool universities here in Germany. I’m even applying for a Tripple A university. The BLS in Hamburg if anyone is interested in that. So far that university has the best program and everything. But it’s a private university so there’ll be trimester fees. And a difficult entrance examination. I’m not sure if I can do it. But I want to go there – goddamnit!!
I’m also nervous about discovering law. I mean, is it the right thing for me? Will it make me happy? Will I regret this decision?
I’m worrying too much according to my friends. They may have declared me insane for wanting to study law (“But are you sure? It’s soooooo boring and dry!”). But a few are really supportive about it. I’m conflicted.
And I’m straying from the initial topic. I might get back to this topic in another post.

Back to Memrise.
So, yeah. It’s super easy to use. And it’s working with a pint system and user ranking.
First of all:
For each right answer you give you receive points. You gather those points. And the more points you have accumulated the higher your rank goes. But not only in a competitive way (weekly, monthly, all time) where you see exactly how much other people spent learning and how successful they were – this might motivate you because you think “Awww, rank 2,003? I can do better!” or it might demotivate you “Awww, rank 2,003? What is this sh*t?!!” (it really depends on your mind set) – but you also receive badges the more you study:

As you can see there are also “Daily Goal Streak Badges”. What are those?
Easy! You can set a daily goal, e.g. 5 Minutes a day/1,500 pts, 15 Minutes a day/6,000 pts or 45 Minutes a day/20,000 pts. Of course you can always turn off the daily goal and change it. When starting you should stick to the first goal option as it is the easiest to reach. Maybe you don’t have much time, then it is the perfect little tool to keep you on your feet. Later you can still switch to higher goals.

I’m still very new to it and in the process of discovering it myself. I might do another post once I’m using it a month or something.

You can also follow your friends. By following them you will have a private ranking between yourself and the people you follow or follow you. It’s great when you have friends that study the same language. A little competition can be a great motivation! And you can start every week anew if the previous week wasn’t exactly your most productive.

And did I mention it’s completely free?
There is of course a paid premium section but you don’t actually need it. You can do very well without.

So, yeah. I’d love it if you check it out. Maybe follow me even.

I look forward to exchanging experiences with all of you folks.

—Kitsune

Published by: Kitsune

I love art of any kind as long as it doesn't involve a long-winded explanation about what it should represent or not. Thus I love to draw. Be it pencil on paper, digital or on a canvas. Of course I'm nowhere near the level of some artists in the world but I like to think that I'm steadily improving. I like reading and drinking tea but also go out if I have the oppurtunity and the right company. I'm a night person which is also the reason why most of my posts are written and published around 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. in the night.

Categories Empfehlungen und IntroductionsTags, , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Understanding the World”

  1. Ich bin schon gespannt, wo du zum Schluss landest, Uni-technisch 🙂 Wenn du Jura studieren willst, ist das ja deine Sache, jedem das seine, nicht? 😉 Ich werde dich auf jeden Fall mal besuchen!
    Memrise ist ziemlich cool, erinnert mich etwas an Khan-Academy, wo man hauptsächlich Mathe und Programmieren lernt, es gibt aber auch noch die Bereiche “Economics and finance”, “Arts and humanities” und “Science”.
    Durch die Mathe-Übungen auf Khan-Academy konnte man für die obligatorischen Mathematik-für-Naturwissenschaftler-1-Übungsgruppe Zusatzpunkte bekommen, ist etwas angenehmer als die Vorlesungen nachzubereiten oder die bescheuerten wöchentlichen Mathe-Übungsblätter zu machen x’D
    Ich bin eh Fan von solchen kostenlosen Online-Lernplattformen, englische Platformen mit kostenlosen College- und Universitäts-Kursen sind Coursera und edX (wobei ich nicht weiß, ob die was taugen ^^).
    Das war es erstmal von mir, ich gehe mal weiter für Klausuren lernen :’D
    GLG, Lio :-*

Leave a Reply

