Manga-Girl or Decora?

In response to Yama-chan’s post about the ESC and Jamie-Lee Kriewitz I’ve decided to give you all a quick overview of what I think about that Manga-girl fiasco the media is responsible for and introduce you to fashion subculture I stumbled upon a few days ago.

It’s always been like this. People who have no idea about manga and anime and just see it as a cartoon for kids are always messing with the entire community. Those people should do their research properly.

Exhibit A:
Years ago there was the same issue with a boy who was responsible for killing a girl he met online. He was a manga and anime lover and more at home on the internet than in real life. Which is totally ok. But the media used this to point out that something must have been obviously wrong with him because he was into manga and had refashioned himself a tragic hero. The evidence: a drawing he had supposedly made showing him as a tragic character with “sad eyes”. Thing is, the drawing clearly depicted a character from Naruto. Sasuke to be precise.
The whole thing had a very negative impact on our ranks. We love manga and anime. It’s like saying all Marvel fans are trash. That’s so not ok.
More information can be found here if you’re interested. Only in German though.

Exhibit B:
Jamie-Lee Kriewitz.
I can’t say what she classifies her style as herself but one look and I knew that “Manga-girl” was definitely not it. I’d say it was Decora.

Unfortunately it seems like the media or the producers are forcing her to tone it down. At least it seems like that to me.

I love that Stitch outfit!
Considerable change I’d say…

As you can see that’s not really manga style but more like Decora.

And Decora is awesome! Personally I prefer a more business look or 50’s fashion besides the normal go to jeans-and-t-shirt. But some people really rock Decora.

Here are some examples:

It looks super fun, doesn’t it?
I think it makes people kind of happy to see such colourful people. And they seem like they’re having so much fun it’s infectious.

Here is the instgram account of Haruka Kurebayashi who is one of the most famous decora girls. Maybe check it out if you feel like it.
She also does some tutorials for KAWAII PATEEN. There you can also find tutorials for gal fashion, “normal” fashion and a lot of other stuff. Have fun browsing.

Of course this fashion subculture also has male followers:

Which – admittedly – doesn’t look as fun to me.
That’s Junnyan by the way.

But it’s out there if you feel like trying something new!

Your always-critical and fun-fashion-loving blogger ❤

—Kitsune

Published by: Kitsune

I love art of any kind as long as it doesn't involve a long-winded explanation about what it should represent or not. Thus I love to draw. Be it pencil on paper, digital or on a canvas. Of course I'm nowhere near the level of some artists in the world but I like to think that I'm steadily improving. I like reading and drinking tea but also go out if I have the oppurtunity and the right company. I'm a night person which is also the reason why most of my posts are written and published around 11 p.m. to 3 a.m. in the night.

Categories Aktuelles, Fashion, Through the GrapevineTags, , , , , , , , 4 Comments

4 thoughts on “Manga-Girl or Decora?”

  1. Lucky me that at least one of us knows about fashion hahaha and it’s kinda sad that you don’t really see any other clothes than those … “maintstream” or bitchy clothes …. (you know what i mean ? ) in every store ! like individuality doesn’t matter cause you could be one of those dress up dolls … well either way i really love that post … you always teach me something new 😀 (btw. it’s reall amazing that it’s already been 3 years since we started this blog 😀 )

  2. I love Kurebayashi!
    There are just so many fashion cultures in Japan it’s crazy, it’s just such a beautiful form of expression. Decora, Lolita, Shironuri etc
    You should check out the Instagram page tokyofashion if you want to see more!

    1. It’s amazing, right? I feel like the Japanese are so much more accepting of all these crazy-fun styles than anywhere else in the world!

      I’ll make sure to check it out 😀

Leave a Reply

